My last visit.

I’m back for my latest, and my final, visit to the island. It’s always lovely to be back. Again this time as like others, the island has changed. There is only a couple of people on the island now and has a very much end of season feel to it. There are a few builders staying who are building a new visitor centre for day trippers to the nature reserve. It kind of spoils the peace having a JCB digging away throughout the day, but then in other ways it’s just what happens around here, daily life continues and things change, even on islands. I’m loving all the seals that have arrived, many are giving birth daily, with new pups nearly everyday. Every time you sit on a rock you realise you have an audience, they love to watch you and follow you around, then duck under the water when you look at them. I have found myself this trip taking this place and its way of life a bit for granted, like I have become accustomed to it. It’s strange how quickly we as humans get used to things, I have to keep reminding myself just how amazing this place is, and the fact that I get to come and stay on here. So I’ve just been out for a lovely night time walk round the island, it’s a strange feeling walking around the island seeing the distance lights on the mainland, it makes you realise how isolated the island really is, and quite how special it is. It’s truly beautiful and I will miss it greatly.

_MG_0491
Cottages at night.
_MG_0484
_MG_0380
A bit of rain.
_MG_0438
Me and my new mates.
_MG_0420
The puppies of the sea.

Leave a comment